The Kokusai Budoin, International Martial Arts Federation, is comprised of seven divisions representing the various Japanese martial arts. These include Judo, Kendo, Karatedo, Aikido, Iaido, Nihon Jujutsu and Kobudo. Each division has an extensive heritage rooted in the traditions of classical martial arts.

Historical Overview

Traditional martial arts form one of the cultural properties of Japan. Depictions of warriors in combat utilizing the classical weapons of the sword, bow and lance, as well as un-armed measures, known collectively as Jujutsu, can be found in ancient scrolls dating from the dawn of Japanese civilization.

Japanese history features extensive periods of warfare, and the subsequent development of the bakufu, military government, which began with the Kamakura era (1192 - 1333), and ending with the Meiji restoration (1868). Throughout this period the samurai held great influence politically and culturally, which lead to the establishment of numerous schools of martial studies. This unique cultural heritage forms the basis of both ancient and modern Japanese martial arts practiced throughout the world today.

What is Nihon Jujutsu?

Nihon Jujutsu is a modern system of self-defense and physical exercise based on techniques commonly found in ancient and contemporary styles of armed and unarmed combat. Regular training includes physical conditioning, evasive movements, striking, throwing and immobilizations (joint locks and other methods of restraint). The training employs a systematic approach to self-defense that effectively develops speed, balance and power through graduated exercises.

The philosophy of Nihon Jujutsu is to develop the individual in both mind and body through daily practice focused on achieving balance and peace. Physical balance is enhanced through regular training, while the philosophy dictates that all means of self-defense must be used in socially responsible ways. Thus, specific measures exploit anatomical weak points, allowing for a response appropriate to the circumstances, and are designed to control an assailant with a minimum of injury.

"All forms of traditional Japanese martial arts are in fact lifelong pursuits, the full benefits of which can only be realized after many years of dedicated practice. To gain proficiency in any one area requires endless study and commitment, and it is through this very process that numerous unanticipated benefits occur. As such, traditional Japanese martial arts constitute much more than methods of combat, rather, they comprise a means of developing discipline, knowledge, soundness of mind and body, all of which in turn, serve to enrich other aspects of one’s life."
- Shizuya Sato, IMAF Chief Director

IMAF Nihon Jujutsu Division

IMAF Chief Director Shizuya Sato, Hanshi Nihon Jujutsu 10-dan, is the current Nihon Jujutsu Division Director.

IMAF Organization Chart  
An overview of the IMAF organization worldwide.
© 2016 IMAF - International Martial Arts Federation. All rights reserved. Home |  FAQ |  Legal |